Northern Edition
Select Edition
Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
New Zealand New Zealand
France France

'Accepted the charge': Davies cited for Premiership final yellow

(Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

Saracens scrum-half Aled Davies is to face further action over his much-debated shoulder-to-head tackle on Leicester hooker Julian Montoya in last Saturday’s Gallagher Premiership final at Twickenham. A huge amount of criticism was levelled at referee Wayne Barnes for his decision to only yellow card the half-back for an illegal 25th-minute tackle that appeared to very much warrant a red card.

ADVERTISEMENT

As it was, the temporary expulsion of Davies was significant as Leicester, who had been losing 0-3 and had just lost George Ford to a game-ending injury, crucially struck for their two tries during the absence of the Welshman.

Those scores from South African duo Hanro Liebenberg and Jasper Wiese were critical to the result, Leicester clinching their 15-12 win with a dramatic last-gasp Freddie Burns drop goal with the contest poised to go into extra time.

Video Spacer

Freddie Burns- Leicester’s drop-goal hero | RugbyPass Offload | Episode 39

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00
 
1x
    • Chapters
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected
      Video Spacer

      Freddie Burns- Leicester’s drop-goal hero | RugbyPass Offload | Episode 39

      Despite the Leicester win, there was much comment in the aftermath regarding the Davies collision with Montoya and how similar types of incidents all season in the Premiership had resulted in red cards being shown.

      However, the yellow card decision won’t now be the end of the matter as Davies has been cited and will have a case to answer. An RFU statement on Wednesday read: “The case of Saracens player Aled Davies will be heard by on papers by an independent disciplinary panel. The date for the hearing is to be confirmed.

      Related

      “Davies was cited for dangerous tackling contrary to World Rugby law 9.13, or in the alternative law 9.11, for making direct contact to the head with his shoulder during the Premiership Final against Leicester Tigers on Saturday. Davies has accepted the charge.”

      Former England out-half and current RugbyPass columnist Andy Goode was among those to criticise the yellow card-only decision, tweeting: “Shoulder to the head and Montoya’s head jolts backwards. Not sure how that’s not a red card but I think because it’s a final they are trying not to give one.”

      ADVERTISEMENT
      ADVERTISEMENT

      Classic Wallabies vs British & Irish Legends | First Match | Full Match Replay

      Did the Lions loosies get away with murder? And revisiting the Springboks lift | Whistle Watch

      The First Test, Visiting The Great Barrier Reef & Poetry with Pierre | Ep 6: The Ultimate Test

      KOKO Show | July 22nd | Full Throttle with Brisbane Test Review and Melbourne Preview

      New Zealand v South Africa | World Rugby U20 Championship | Extended Highlights

      USA vs England | Men's International | Full Match Replay

      France v Argentina | World Rugby U20 Championship | Extended Highlights

      Lions Share | Episode 4

      Trending on RugbyPass

      Comments

      0 Comments
      Be the first to comment...

      Join free and tell us what you really think!

      Sign up for free
      ADVERTISEMENT

      Latest Features

      Comments on RugbyPass

      D
      DJ 1 hour ago
      What World Rugby say about Dan Sheehan's controversial Lions try

      See the last paragraph of World Rugby clarification 3-2022

      World Rugby Passport - Clarification 3-2022 which reads

      “In principle, in a try scoring situation, if the action is deemed to be a dive forward for a try, then it should be permitted. If a player is deemed to have left the ground to avoid a tackle; or to jump, or hurdle a potential tackler, then this is dangerous play and should be sanctioned accordingly”.


      As I said, 6 of one, half a dozen of the other. World Rugby needs to clarify their clarification! So did Sheehan leave the ground to avoid a tackle? If so, then Sheehan should have been penalised.

      14 Go to comments
      TRENDING
      TRENDING Many Springboks fans are saying same thing about the Lions Many Springboks fans are saying same thing about the Lions