Northern Edition
Select Edition
Northern Northern
Southern Southern
Global Global
New Zealand New Zealand
France France

'Very, very dumb play': Cowan-Dickie's pivotal moment that turned the Calcutta Cup

(Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Despite trailing 10-6 at the half, England had dominated the possession and territory stakes but were scuppered by a resilient Scottish defence.

ADVERTISEMENT

The visitors continued to arrest control in the second, firstly narrowing the gap to 10-9 with a Smith penalty before taking the lead when Ben Youngs put England’s flyhalf into a gap for a well-worked try.

Another Smith penalty in the 63rd minute took England’s lead to 17-10 which looked to have taken the game out of Scotland’s reach before the decisive play of the game.

Video Spacer

RugbyPass Offload | Episode 19

Video Spacer

RugbyPass Offload | Episode 19

Following a second consecutive cross-field kick, Scotland looked certain to score with the ball directed into the path of Darcy Graham. The closest defender, hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie, made a deliberate play to disrupt the catch by illegally knocking the ball forward into touch.

After deliberation with the match officials, referee Ben O’Keefe had no option but to award a penalty try and issuing a yellow card to the England hooker, resulting in the scores being locked at 17-all.

Australian pundit and former Scotland coach Matt Williams called it a ‘very, very dumb play’ in the post-match coverage on Virgin Media Sport.

“Very, very dumb play from Cowan-Dickie, he could’ve caught the ball,” Williams said.

“He certainly didn’t look like he knew the laws of the game. You are not allowed to bat the ball forward or out, it is a penalty and regarded as foul play in rugby, as ridiculous as some people think that is.

ADVERTISEMENT

“However, I’ve got to say, I’ve seen some dodgy penalty tries and that’s right up there. I’m not so certain that you could say was a try definitely going to be scored. Did the foul play definitely stop a try from being scored?

“I just don’t think it fulfilled those requirements. It doesn’t matter now, it’s been awarded. That lit the game up, that penalty try.

Former Irish fullback Rob Kearney also agreed with Williams’ view but stated that Cowan-Dickie’s decision was ‘absolutely crazy’

“Absolutely it didn’t fill the requirements for me,” Kearney said.

“He’d done all the hard work, he got himself into the right position. He timed his jump into the air really well, got his two hands up in the air, and then just decided to bat it into touch.

ADVERTISEMENT

“It was absolutely crazy stuff. We always loathe to put the blame on one person, but he has cost his team this game.”

ADVERTISEMENT
LIVE

Chile vs Brazil | Men's International

Classic Wallabies vs British & Irish Legends | First Match | Full Match Replay

Did the Lions loosies get away with murder? And revisiting the Springboks lift | Whistle Watch

The First Test, Visiting The Great Barrier Reef & Poetry with Pierre | Ep 6: The Ultimate Test

KOKO Show | July 22nd | Full Throttle with Brisbane Test Review and Melbourne Preview

New Zealand v South Africa | World Rugby U20 Championship | Extended Highlights

USA vs England | Men's International | Full Match Replay

France v Argentina | World Rugby U20 Championship | Extended Highlights

Lions Share | Episode 4

Trending on RugbyPass

Comments

0 Comments
Be the first to comment...

Join free and tell us what you really think!

Sign up for free
ADVERTISEMENT

Latest Features

Comments on RugbyPass

D
DJ 26 minutes ago
What World Rugby say about Dan Sheehan's controversial Lions try

See the last paragraph of World Rugby clarification 3-2022

World Rugby Passport - Clarification 3-2022 which reads

“In principle, in a try scoring situation, if the action is deemed to be a dive forward for a try, then it should be permitted. If a player is deemed to have left the ground to avoid a tackle; or to jump, or hurdle a potential tackler, then this is dangerous play and should be sanctioned accordingly”.


As I said, 6 of one, half a dozen of the other. World Rugby needs to clarify their clarification! So did Sheehan leave the ground to avoid a tackle? If so, then Sheehan should have been penalised.

14 Go to comments
TRENDING
TRENDING How Ellis Genge reacted to being dropped for the second Lions Test How Ellis Genge reacted to being dropped for the second Lions Test